Historically, kosher wine is a special grape wine which is produced according to Judaism’s religious law and Sabbath-observant male Jews must supervise the winemaking process. All ingredients used must be kosher.
When sold commercially, kosher wine must have a special seal of approval called the ‘hechsher’ which is awarded by an authoritive rabbi. Recently there has been a surge in demand for kosher wines, and more and more countires are producing wine to a commercial level, under strict supervision.
The largest producers and importers of kosher wines are the north eastern United Sates. It is becoming increasingly popular in , Germany, Italy, South Africa, and Australia, where a range of kosher wines, including whites, reds and rosés, are sold and consumed not just for special occasions, but as a delicious meal accompaniment.